Weeknight Made Easy

005

To say that I am excited about 2017 is a bit of an understatement. I have so much going on and happening that it is almost a bit overwhelming and daunting. I keep reminding myself that it is like a blank page to a new notebook and I ease up a little bit. And remember to breathe. Because passing out and crack my head open on the kitchen floor and bleed all over the wood is a faux pas, or so I’m told.

I grew up cooking. My dad taught me how to cook and I love it. Cooking is a sign of love in my family. You create food for the people in your life as a sign of love. It is one of many reasons why I take baking desserts for my friends and family so seriously, and why it was so daunting to me the first time that I made Valentine’s Day dinner for my boyfriend for the first time. It’s a sign of love.

That being said, whenever I am severely stressed and overwhelmed, mainly around exam time, I tend to freak out about time and having as much time as possible and then I get tired and just. Take out is so seductive. One of my goals for this year is to cook dinner for myself at least six nights a week. They say that you need to do something consecutively for thirty days in order for it to stick as a habit or routine. So in order to ensure this happens, I grabbed this cookbook from Barnes & Noble a day or two after Christmas in the bargain section. Everything looks so delicious and easy which is another place that I run into issues with is what to cook during the week that is delicious and not too time consuming but also relatively healthy.

That being said, my sub-goal for the year is to cook every dish in this cook book. Especially since some of the things in there are things I don’t normally touch, I think it will help get me out of my comfort zone a bit, which when it comes to meats tends to stick mainly with chicken, ground turkey, and shrimp. So far so good, I actually made the pork stir fry dish last night. De-fucking-licious. I’m excited to take it to work tomorrow for my lunch. There is a recipe for a seafood stew that I am excited to try this week that I will have to document and report back with. I am changing it a bit though; it asks for cod and I’m replacing it with tilapia. Not really a fan of cod, but oh my god will I tear up some tilapia.

I’m super classy.

What are some of your goals for this year? What do you cook during the winter time?

2 thoughts on “Weeknight Made Easy

  1. I love to roast veggies year-round, but especially in the winter. My favs to roast are white sweet potatoes, Brussels sprouts, Peruvian (purple) potatoes, onions, and broccoli. I also like to make dishes in the slow cooker – stuffed bell peppers and pinto beans, especially! I love your idea of setting a goal to cook 6x/week. =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

